For My 2 Aussie Fairies.

aussie-starsAustralia Day is the next holiday on our calendar Down Under. As I am not a born and bred Australian, but my children are, I resorted to the web to find some craft ideas for Australia Day. I was a bit disappointed with the choice and am still wondering if I did a wrong search. It seems that after Christmas we need a craft break. Well not in this family.

We feel crafts are a great way to discover and talk about subjects. So I tried to come up with my own Australia Day crafts, taking inspiration from the 7-pointed stars on the flag. Ellen loves her new “twinklefly”. (Twinklefy comes from Hootabelle a ABC-kids favourite)

White Star

  • White print paper
  • Red cellophane
  • Blue ribbon
  • Bamboo skewer (22cm)
  • Scissors
  • Glue
  • Sticky tape

Print out the white star pdf-template twice or draw a 7-pointed star with a little star inside. I must admit I never knew that most of the stars on your flag had 7 points. Cut out the stars and the little stars. Smaller children will find cutting out the little star is difficult. My almost 4-year-old just coloured the little star red. If you managed to cut out the little star then place a piece of red cellophane between the big stars and don’t forget the skewer. I secured the skewer with a piece of sticky tape before glueing the stars together. Tie a piece of blue ribbon under the star.

Blue Star

  • Blue origami paper
  • White printer paper
  • Red ribbon
  • Bamboo skewer (22cm)
  • Scissors
  • Glue
  • Sticky tape

Use the white star as a template and cut out 2 blue stars. Then I looked for a Australian flag colouring page on the net to have small enough stars and I cut these out. I stuck the southern star on the blue star and found out that one of the stars was a five point star. The other blue also got a southern star so that both sides would look the same. Glue the 2 blue stars together with the bamboo skewer in the middle. Secure the skewer first with a bit of sticky tape. Tie a piece of red ribbon under the star.

Hope you enjoy our Australia Day star wands. Please let us know about your Australia Day crafts.

4 thoughts on “For My 2 Aussie Fairies.

Leave a Reply

