2 Aussie Natives

I think I have mentioned before that I love textiles and it is time to use them in a craft, but how? Ellen isn’t old enough to sew. She tries to use scissors, but I won’t let her near sharp ones. Screenprinting, an other one of my likes, is also a bit advanced, still textile paint is a good option.

For her bedroom I would like to make some squatter cushions, nice to sit on when playing on the floor. It would be great if she could have part in making them. How to make this work?

Before we have our craft time that day we go to the koala sanctuary with some friends. The koala sanctuary is a nice park not to far from our home where they rescue koalas and other Australian native animals. Ellen loves it there. She specially loves the kangaroos as you are allowed to feed them.

Back home I look for some silhouettes of kangaroos and koalas on the computer as I have realised that this is the perfect subject. The silhouettes will make great stencils once you cut them out of tracing paper. I have to print out some extra koalas as Ellen wants to “draw” them, read colour them in. This time the painting will not be done by brushes, but I take 2  spray bottle and mix some textile paint with water. Spray glue on the back of the stencils makes sure they will not move on the left over calico.

Warning: this is an outdoor craft! As soon as Ellen got hold of one of the spray bottles she was of. I had to explain to her that she should spray on the fabric, not me, not her little sister and not the cat. She had a blast and it took another spray bottle with water to make her stop “painting”.

I love the result. Somehow the colours really match the 2 Aussie natives, the koala and the kangaroo.

3 thoughts on “2 Aussie Natives

  1. Hoi Renate, wat ontzettend leuk om wat te lezen van jullie en dan ook nog zulke leuke creatieve ideeen. Zeer inspirerend, ik wil ook nog wat vaker met de twee gaan knutselen dan ik al doe en ik doe bij jou zeker ook ideeen op….

    Lieve groet van Janet

    • Hoi Janet, Ellen kijkt echt uit naar onze “maak” sessies en ik kan niet wachten tot haar zus oud genoeg is. Vergeet geen fotos te maken van het knutselen zelf. Ik heb al een aardige collectie en dat is erg leuk. Groetjes Renate

  2. Hoi Renate, geweldig initiatief! Ik ben zelf ‘uit de kleine kinderen’, en nog lang geen oma, dus op dit moment niet de doelgroep. Wel heb ik een prentenboek gemaakt samen met Olga Orman, Michi, heet het. We hebben ook een Engelse versie dus heel geschikt voor Australie. Op mijn site kun je illustraties zien en een artikel over Olga en mij. Succes en groeten aan je gezin!
    Wendela

Leave a Reply

