Tiles 2 Match

Having a rented house in Australia means you have to ask permission from the owner to change anything in the house or to put a nail in the wall to hang a picture or photograph. At first this was hard for me to understand. The rules in the Netherlands are a bit different. The inside of the house is the responsibility of the tenant, the outside of the owner. For me as an interior designer this was a challenge.

Now that we “own” our house, it means we can get creative. Mind you we have to get creative as most of our money goes to the mortgage. One of the things we did have to invest in was a new stove. The old one was not safe for the kids and the oven didn’t work. The new stove got a new spot and has no splashback. This is where Ellen gets in.

At one of her painting sessions she had filled a square canvas with green, white and yellow paint. I loved the swirls. I held it against the wall and it made me think of tiles. What if Ellen would paint a couple of tiles to match the existing kitchen tiles for the stove splashback. This is what we did. As a new kitchen is still a couple of years away, we keep to the colour scheme that is in place; orange, grey and white.

Ellen quickly filled the five tiles I put in front of her as she preferred to go to the park and swing. Little does she know that she has given us a unique splashback with a couple of cheap tiles.

P.S. I’ll post a photo once the tiling is done.

P.P.S. This was the project we didn’t do earlier, because I was missing one of the paint colours.

4 thoughts on “Tiles 2 Match

  1. Renate, this is a really amazing and unique idea. I love that it was about creating a home and not about creating a catalogue house. I can NOT wait until I have my own place and get stuck into redecorating it!

    Renate, I was wondering if I could maybe get some help? I’m working on an ‘out and about’ atm, and a part of the app will have bloggers recommending 5-10 places in their city to check out for all sorts of things from craft to shopping to eating and everything in between, I was wondering if you might recommend maybe a few places you love? I will put links to your blog on the app and drive more traffic your way. We have over 3,000 people signed up to download the app already and it hasn’t even launched yet (we’re super excited!)
    If you’re happy to be a part of it all just pop on here -https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/viewform?formkey=dG93enNmdHRPOTVuUWVqOFJMUElibnc6MQ
    or you can email me on jenny@heylets.com xx

  2. Pingback: Time For Mama 2 Get Crafty « 2craftand2create

Leave a Reply

