Sketchbooking: Cuddly Toys

It is hard for an adult to dive back into childhood drawing, we tend to overthink. Nevertheless I gave the girls and myself the assignment to draw a cuddly toy. I was inspired by @childsownstudios, someone I follow on Instagram. She makes cuddly toys from the drawings of children and does an awesome job. I wanted to see what the girls would come up with. At first the youngest said she couldn’t do it, but when I asked her if she could draw a person she immediately started and chose to draw her father shaving. Ellen named a couple of things, but then decided on a mermaid and as I wanted to stay with a children’s drawing I decided on a fantasy figure that somewhere resembles a teapot. We used neon coloured sharpies and pens.

2-year-old

2-year-old

4-year-old

4-year-old

me

me

Leave a Reply

