2 Craft Day 19, 20 & 21 “Xmas” Painting

day-19-20-21-xmas-paint1A bit of a project this time. We were going to make a Christmas painting or at least this is what I told my daughters. I gave them each have an egg carton to fill with paint. They got to pick the colours. I had some glitter paint and solid colours. Now I hadn’t quite figured out for myself what a Christmas painting could be, but for me I think it would have mainly be in the colours. The other thing I might not have thought through was the fact that they both would be painting on the same canvas and their skill level is different.

Ellen picked for her 6 paints gold and gold glitter, blue and blue glitter, silver and silver glitter. Her younger sister on the other hand chose red, green, gold glitter, green glitter, blue and blue glitter. Ellen used water to clean her brush, her younger sister used water as yet another medium to use on the canvas. So much so I had to take it away. In short it all got a bit messy and I had a feeling that the mission had failed. Not to worry they had a lot of fun and it was an old canvas. I left it to dry while we kept on painting on paper.

When I looked at the canvas and was able to turn it, I started to see possibilities. There was a landscape there with a beautifulday-19-20-21-xmas-paint2 sky with blue, gold and silver. So I left the painting against the wall on the kitchen table and while having diner we looked at it together. We started to see al kinds of things like the North mountain and a giant with a big belly. The next day we would use these ideas to finish the picture with collage. Ellen though took it upon herself the next day to put a felt tip pen to the canvas and draw a swirly wind. I was not impressed. Luckily the felt tip pen dissolved in water and made the sky more blue. I did think it better to leave the project be as Ellen was upset by my “accident”.

The next day I got the canvas out and some paper, scissors and glue and started to work. Ellen was quick to come and help. We made faces and dresses, animals and a house. We worked on a composition and glued it on the canvas, after which with a black pen we filled in the details. I can’t tell you how day-19-20-21-xmas-paint3proud I am of their art work. It might not be a Christmas painting, to me it is a master piece…

If you want to do it too, here is a list of what you need;

  • Canvas
  • Acrylic paint
  • Glitter paint
  • Egg carton for holding the paints
  • Paint brush
  • Water
  • Paper
  • Scissors
  • Glue
  • Black Pen
Leave a Reply

