Confessions of a Mumpreneur

new screen printed bag with handmade handles.

new screen printed bag with handmade handles.

This is scary. Starting a business is scary. Working on your own business is scary and it is definitely scary if you are selling products that you made with your own hands or teaching something you feel passionate about. On the other hand I do feel happy after a sale or a successful workshop.

This year I was going to do everything I could to make it work, next to taking care of my kids and spend time with my husband. I started great, signed up for Create and Thrive 30 question business plan, the thriving artist and the Etsy resolution. Together with my husband I organised my workspace. Found some fellow enthusiasts to work on a craft event.

Then I got a bug from one of my kids and it was a nasty one. One that didn’t make me sick enough to stay in bed for a week and come out all guns blazing, but a lingering one that stayed with me for about 6 weeks. All the planning, all the lessons listened to fell to the background and now I have to pick everything back up.

So I am going to try and blog every Sunday about what has been done and what I need to do this coming week to help me hold myself accountable and to keep on track. To make sure I show up every day for at least 2 years, I have heard that that is what it takes. And to spend at least 15 minutes on my favourite project Renate and the Ant House.

P.S. I’ll be working on the Etsy Resolution lessons this week, so keep an eye out for my revamped Etsy store.

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a Mumpreneur

  1. Good on you Renate! Glad to hear you are coming out of the ‘fog’ of being sick for so long. Look fwd to the blogs.

  2. This is fantastic! Not the bug, but the extra jump you are giving yourself to really pursue your dream and hold yourself accountable for the work that needs to happen. Your print work is so unique and beautiful, with such a fun youthful whimsy. You will do great with it. Etsy is a confusing place, but those who seek the right advice always flourish there. I’m wishing you all the luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

